Michael McDaniel

Chairman Michael McDaniel – Aerojet Rocketdyne

Mr. McDaniel has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nondestructive Testing, a Master’s of Administration Degree in Industrial Management and a Master’s Degree in Quality Management and Six Sigma. In 1984 he started his career as an engineer with Babcock & Wilcox Naval Nuclear Fuel Division in Lynchburg Virginia. In 1986 he joined EG&G Florida as a Nondestructive Testing engineer for the Atlas, Delta, Titan and Space Shuttle programs. Mike accepted the position as Senior Manager Safety and Mission Assurance with Boeing Rocketdyne in 1999 and relocated to Stennis Space Center. In 2010, Mike was promoted to General Manager for the Aerojet Rocketdyne Stennis Space Center Site Operations.

McDaniel has served as the Chairman of the American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) and Standards Development Committee, the Chairman of the ASNT/ANSI Technical Advisory Group (TAG) and ISO committee. Additionally, Mr. McDaniel served eight years on the ASNT Board of Directors and is currently serving as a Director on the INFINITY Science Center Board of Directors

In 2015, Aerojet Rocketdyne at Stennis was recognized by the Hancock Chamber of Commerce and the Hancock County Port & Harbor Commission with the Industrial Award of Excellence. This innovative company delivers solutions that create value for its customers in the aerospace and defense markets. The company is a world-recognized leader that provides propulsion and energetics to the space, missile defense and strategic systems, tactical systems and armaments areas, in support of domestic and international markets. Aerojet Rocketdyne has skilled, talented and gifted employees dedicated to working safely each and every day, with attention to detail and first time through quality work practices. The company is continuing its partnership with NASA in the development and certification of the rocket propulsion engines to power the next generation of launch systems known as the Space Launch System (SLS). NASA has selected Aerojet Rocketdyne RS-25 engines, which are assembled and tested at Stennis Space Center, to power the first stage of SLS.

Partners for Stennis Board and Officers:


Chairman: Michael McDaniel

Vice Chairman: Guy Johnson

Treasurer: John Smith

Past Chairman: Mark Schloegel

Secretary: Tish H. Williams

Board of Directors:

  • Jason Brady
    AB Computer Solutions
  • Michael D. Haas, Jr.
    Haas & Haas Attorneys
  • Dave Hartley
    Lockheed Martin
  • Jim Connor
  • Dawn Sharpe
    East St. Tammany Chamber of Commerce
  • Dave Treutel, Jr.
    Treutel Insurance Agency
  • Jim Holt
    S3 / Syncom Space Services
  • Ashley Edwards
    Gulf Coast Business Council
  • Arnie Williams
    MS Power Company
  • Alan Hodges
    Hancock Medical Center/Ochsner Health System
  • Al Watkins
    A2 Research
  • Clay Wagner
    Hancock Bank
  • Randy Holland
    Emeritus Board Member

Ex Officio Board Members:

  • Scott Alsobrooks
    Pearl River Community College
  • Leonard Bentz
    South MS Planning & Development District
  • Miles Bernard
  • Brenda Reine-Bertus
    St. Tammany Parish Economic Development Foundation
  • Dr. William Burnett
    Naval Meterology & Oceanography Command
  • Greg Cromer
  • Natalie Guess
    Magnolia Business Alliance
  • Bill Hessel
    Harrison County Development Commission
  • Greg Hinkebein
    MS Enterprise for Technology
  • Bill Cotter
    Stennis International Airport /
    Hancock County Port & Harbor Commission
  • Michael Hecht
    Greater New Orleans Inc.
  • George Loup
    University of New Orleans
  • Roy Keller
    LA Technology Transfer Office
  • Dr. William Lewis
    Pearl River Community College
  • Keith Long
    Center of Higher Learning
  • Ned Peak
    Edward Peak & Associates
  • Helmut Portmann
    National Data Buoy Center
  • Lee Reid
    Adams & Reese
  • Bobby Savoie
  • Pat Tidmore
    NASA Shared Services Center
  • Jim Wahl
    Aerojet Rocketdyne, Inc.
  • Clay Williams
    Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport